Ava DuVernay’s ‘When They See Us’ Wins Emmy for Casting

Maria Perez SAVE THIS

When They See Us for your consideration, Featuring: Ava DuVernay, Aunjanue Ellis, Marsha Stephanie Blake, Niecy Nash. (FayesVision/WENN)

Filmmaker Ava DuVernay’s four-part Netflix series, “When They See Us,” won its first Emmy for Outstanding Movie/Limited Series Casting.

The series, which earned 16 Emmy nominations, recounts the story of the Central Park Five, the five teenage boys who were wrongly accused of sexually assaulting a Central Park jogger in 1989. Kevin Richardson, Antron McCray, Yusef Salaam, Raymond Santana, Jr., and Korey Wise spent years in prison for a crime they did not commit. In 2002, all five men’s charges were vacated after another man confessed to the rape and DNA evidence was found linking him to the crime.

DuVernay’s series includes five young actors who play the teenage versions of the men, including Jharrel Jerome (who also played the adult version), Ethan Herisse, Asante Blackk, Marquis Rodriguez, and Caleel Harris….

Subscribe to The North Star

Subscribe for $10 a month to gain access to this and many more articles from The North Star.

Do you already have an account?


Join The Conversation

Join the Conversation